Sign in to follow this  
Percyhappy

Please help me. Speckles is lying on bottom, has an extremely swollen abdomen and is spitting out food?

(photo and video at bottom)

I have been keeping goldfish for about 8 years now, but this particular problem has me stumped. I got a new job, and my boss showed me his fish tank. To my horror there was this beautiful large calico ryukin goldfish lying on the bottom with almost no room to turn around. The entire tank was planted with fake coral and plants. The tank was way too small for him. Even worse, when I tested the water, the nitrates were off the chart, basically the highest it can go, and the ph was 6.0.

I told him that the fish wasn't well and that I would take him to get him better. He is in a cycled 20 gallon tank by himself now with filtration and air. These are the current water perameters in my quarantine tank:

Other Required Info:

• Test Results for the Following:
  • * Ammonia Level: 0
  • * Nitrite Level: 0
  • * Nitrate level: 20
  • * Ph Level, Tank 7.2 (baking soda has been used) KH: 80 GH:30
  • * Ph Level, Tap: 6.5 (KH: virtually 0, GH: virtually 0
  • * Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops? Drops, API Freshwater master test kit. To get the KH and GH I have to use the strips though.
  • * Water temperature? 72 degrees
  • * Tank size: 20 gallons, 1 year
  • * What is the name and "size of the filter"(s)? Marineland penguin bio-wheel filter Penguin 200, (I know.. I like to have extra filtration maybe its too much??)
  • * How often do you change the water and how much? A 50% change once a week... (or maybe a little longer, but usually about 1 week)

• * How many days ago was the last water change and how much did you change? I just did a 50% water change
  • * How many fish in the tank and their size? 1 fish, about 4 inches
  • * What kind of water additives or conditioners? I use Prime as a water conditioner