Zoo Med Nano 501 Canister Review

I thought I would do a quick review of the Zoo Med Nano 501 canister because I don't hear much about these ever :)

This nano canister was suggested to me by one of my youtube subscribers. I was using a little aqua clear HOB on my betta tank, but I wanted to add some more lighting and because of the way the lighting hooked onto the glass canopy, the HOB interfered, so I began asking around about nano canisters.

I have been using this canister for several months now. At first it was a bit loud, to the point where I was going to return it, but within 1-2 weeks it quieted down and now it is as close to silent as you can get. Even after cleaning it is still silent.

The canister itself has two chambers, one that holds a large sponge, and the other side holds bio media (along with carbon if you want it). Water comes in the sponge side through an intake and out the bio media side through an output.

The canister comes with a spray bar or regular output option. Because this is on my betta tank I chose the spray bar to reduce current. The spray bar is long enough for a 10 gallon tank, but can be cut to any size. I angle my spray bar down so that the only current is along the back wall of my tank which is heavily planted. It creates very little current and my betta has never seemed bothered by it :)

The filter claims to run 80 gallons per hour, who knows what actual output is, but It is more than enough for a small betta tank :) (my tank is 5 gallons btw)

Overall, I really like this canister. It is quiet, there's lots of room for media, and I love the spray bar option. My only complaint is that the canister itself can sometimes be difficult to open, I usually have to use a butter knife to help pry it open, but this also means it is sealed very well :P It also can be a little tricky to get going the first couple times, but I have had no problem once I figured out the angle I need to hold it at to get it to prime.