Sign in to follow this  
jerseykid

Water advice?

Hey guys just got an API testing kit and i'm gonna try it out right now, I've never used one before and i'll post the results after i'm done. I change 25% of the water every week as i siphon the gravel. I have one comet in a ten gallon tank with a topfin10 filter so i'm not sure if its enough. Is there more i can do or is there anything I can do better? Gonna go test the water now, hoping for the best.

It's typically recommended that you change at 50-80% of your water at least weekly. This is the minimum, and then rely on your test kit to tell you if you need to do water changes more frequently or not. :) Your ammonia and nitrite should always be 0 ppm, nitrate should ideally be under 20 ppm (40 ppm is the max it should go, but it's better to shoot for 20). I said this in your other thread, but you should test your tap as well so you know what you're working with. Especially compare your tap and tank Ph :)

Also, you will want to think about upgrading your tank at some point :) A minimum of 20 gallons is ideal for a single tailed fish like yours.

You would probably also benefit from an upgrade in your filtration. The topfin 10 does 80 gph. It's recommended that you have 10x the tank volume in filtration for goldies, so 100 gph for your 10 gallon, 200 gph for a 20 gallon :) You could get a second filter to run on the tank or upgrade to one larger one, either one works. The benefit of running 2 filters is that if one fails you still have the other to keep your cycle.