Sign in to follow this  
Peterlock

Hikari VS Aqeon Golfish Food

When I joined Koko's in 2010 one of the first posts I recall writing had to do with the Hikari Fancy Goldfish Color Enhancing fish food.

It's touted as their most advanced formula, but I was concerned that the formula included MSG (monosodium glutamate) A soy based product known to cause migraines and a myriad of other problems.

MSG is a flavor enhancer, what it does is basically fool the brain into perceiving that certain foods taste better than they actually would without the addition of MSG. In fact abundant research concludes it makes otherwise unpalatable food highly palatable.

There are plenty of examples of Asian restaurants, foods and countless products who boldly exclaim - No MSG!

I had written to Hikari - twice, asking why MSG was included in this particular formula, I've never received a response.

I've been researching commercial dog food for many years, and have making my own dog food for equally as long. With 90% of commercial dog food, being little more than garbage, not to mention a health hazard - I've learned to assess the labels, do research and draw conclusions.

Ok once again I digress.

Anyway, as most of you know when reading any pet food list of ingredients, the first three are the most critical. So I recently did a comparison between the Hikari and the Aqueon slow sinking color enhancing granules.

Here's the ingredient list for Hikari: