What should I be Feeding my Goldfish?

Aluyasha

I know flakes can cause swim bladder issues so I went looking for pellet food. I went to my lfs to talk to the fish guy there and he suggested Mazuri Koi Pellets, I have been feeding them these pellets since I first got them.

I heard the pellets might have corn in them? I know corn is bad for pretty much all pets. Is there any brand better for them? Should I be mixing brands maybe? I know a varied diet is good for other fish.

I am still learning about Goldfish, any info will help. :)

Edited by Aluyasha

I am not familiar with the pellets you have so I cannot speak to those, but good brands of pellets include Hikari (many people feed Saki Hikari the purple bag, Hikari Lionhead is another good sinking pellet), new life spectrum, omega one, and progold (http://www.goldfishconnection.com/shop/details.php?productId=2&catId=1).

Another option is to make homemade gel food for your fish. This allows you to have more control over what is in your fish food, helps to provide variety in the diet, and is good for fish who may be sensitive to commercial foods/have swim bladder issues. There are many gel food recipes on this forum. Here is a link to a recent thread on gel food for floaty fish :)http://www.kokosgoldfish.invisionzone.com/forum/index.php?/topic/97760-share-your-gel-food-recipes-for-floaters/

The best way to add variety to your fishes' diet is to feed them lots of fresh veggies. You can feed blanched veggies such as kale, romaine, cucumber, zucchini, spinach, endive etc. on a veggie clip. You can also give them a little slice of orange or lime as an occasional treat.

I personally feed primarily gel food, along with a few meals of Saki Hikari or pro gold. I also give my fish lots of veggies throughout the week :)

I didn't know corn was a "problem" for fish, per se. just that it's probably a filler like yeast. check your food's ingredients - you'll want the fillers near the end and as little crude ash as possible.