Sign in to follow this  
tithra

Growing duckweed in a separate tank?

I just purchased some duckweed on aquabid with the intent of setting up a small tank for the sole purpose of growing duckweed for the goldies. I am just going to use one of the 1-2 gallon critter carriers so it will just be duckweed and water in it (no livestock).

I am assuming that the duckweed will need some sort of fertilization to grow (right?), would dosing with flourish work for this? How often would I want to change the water? Anything else I need to know? :)

I am not an expert, but probably what I would try is using some old water change water (just the water, not the gunk) for the duckweed tank, then just changing that out when I did water changes on the goldfish tank.

I would also just fill that tank with old tank water from the main tank, which should be good enough fert as duckweed is pretty rampant. Im sure flourish wouldnt hurt, but may be an uneeded expense long term.

I can only agree, filling it with tank water, and then replacing part of the water every time you do a water change, that should work.

A 1-2 gallon container will not offer much room for the duckweed though. I would rather go with something that has a little bit bigger surface area. That way you can grow a lot of duckweed to feed the fish a lot of it!

I think a shallow rubermaid container would work best http://www.google.ca...1t:429,r:0,s:46

like this one kind of. Then it has more surface area

May be use Sterilite containers. They are food safe :)

Thanks for the input. I will try to find something shallow and a little larger. I just don't have a lot of room for a big container, but I could put it outside when it gets warm.