What fish are compatible with Guppies?

Dory

Hi, I've had tons of gf before, but I haven't been able to have very many fish for a while. Now I am starting up my tanks again and I thought I would like to try some tropicals. I have a 10g which is set up and I'm doing a fishless cycle with it right now. I also have a 55g which I will hopefully be setting up in a few months. I really want to breed guppies in the 55g and use the 10g as a nursery for the babies. But I would also like to have different kinds of tropicals in the 55g since it's a decent size. Since I am relatively new to tropicals I have been doing a lot of research, but the problem is that every website says different things. In your opinion, what kinds of fish are compatible with guppies? I also would really love to get a Red Tailed Shark. Unfourtunately, I know that they can be a somewhat more aggressive fish. I thought since the RTS is mostly a bottom dweller and guppies are mostly a mid-top level dweller maybe it would be okay IF I provided lots of cover and plants, and IF I added the RTS into the tank last and tried to find a smaller one. But I have no experience with these guys. What do you guys think? Would it be possible to keep a Red Tailed Shark in a 55g with guppies and other tropicals? If I do get one and it turns out they don't get along well, I suppose I could always put up a tank divider.

I am not sure about the shark and the guppies. It might cause too much trouble, more than it's worth.

Guppies are quite easy to keep in different water conditions (pH and temperature, as long as both are stable) so I would think pretty much any non aggressive community fish should work just fine with them. Or not? If you want something for the bottom, corydoras or small plecos would be neat. If you want something all over the place, then platy fish or swordtails and mollies would be the right choice.