Sign in to follow this  
ashlee18

DIY CO2

Let me start this off by saying, I am no expert at this but this has worked so far. And if anything doesn't make sense, please ask questions. Also, please ignore all my random aquarium crap lol

You will want to do 1 setup for every 30 gallons. So I did 2 for my 55.

Materials you will need:

1. 2 liter bottle

2. Small bottle or jar

3. Airline tubing.

4. Silicone

5. Check valve

6. Airstone

7. Drill

IMG_0042.jpg

First, find the drill bit that is just a little bit smaller than your airline tubing. If you pick one that is too small, that is fine. You can always make the hole bigger but not smaller ;)

IMG_0043.jpg

Drill 2 holes in the bottle cap to the smaller bottle or jar. Drill 1 hole in the bottle cap of the two liter bottle.

IMG_0044.jpg

I made the holes too small and had to make them bigger.

IMG_0045.jpg

Cut 2 pieces of airline tubing. You will need 1 long piece (long enought to go from your jar into the tank) and one short piece about 1 foot long. My long piece is about 4 feet long because the airstones are near the bottom of the tank and the bottles sit on a shelf under the tank.

I found that the least messy way to silicone the tubing to the cap was to place a gob of silicone where you want the cap to be and push the cap into that spot. And then use something to smooth it into the cracks. Also, cutting the tubing into an angle makes it easier to push through the hole.

In your cap with two holes: You will want to make one of the tubes is at least 3 inches or more throuh the bottle cap. One needs to be much shorter and only long enough to be siliconed securely.

IMG_0046.jpg

In your cap with one hole: You are siliconing this to the other end of the short piece. This piece only needs to be push in far enough to silicone it.

IMG_0047.jpg

This is what it will look like:

IMG_0048.jpg