Sign in to follow this  
Guest tinjimmy

My Black Moor Is Kinda Fat And Twitchy

Guest tinjimmy

I'm very new to this goldfish thing -- thank God for this site or I would have killed the poor thing weeks ago.

I have a Black Moor who I had in a 5 gallon tank for about 3 months. He's been pretty hardy considering my inexperience -- but about 10 days ago I noticed he was spending all his time toward the bottom of the tank, seemed a little bloated and seemed a little twichy when he swam.

A day or two later I noticed a patch of white fluffy stuff on his fin. After reading up I figured it was probably fugus so I treated with Jungle Fungus Clear and it went right away. My best guess is the fungus was secondary to a swim bladder problem which would account for him hanging at the bottom of the tank and his general twitchy swimming style.

I was feeding him floating flakes (Tetra Fin) twice a day, but I started him on a peas only diet about 3 days ago, hoping it was constipation (he's had trailing poops) that was causing the swim bladder problem. The tank was still cycling so the ammonia in the tank was close to 0, but the Nitrites were really high (5) so I added salt and changed 30% of the water. Last night I bought a new 10 gallon tank and some Bio Spira to speed up the cycle and put the Moor in today.

I'm not sure if he's bloated -- he seems pretty big compared to the ones I saw at the store last night. Very round through the middle. How can I tell if I'm overfeeding? Am I on the right track here? Could he be bloated for some other reason? Any input would be helpful.