Eggs!

lindsey elliott

Today I woke up to my tank full of eggs! Im pretty excited because this is my first time with goldies spawning! BUT they just wont leave Pearl(my female) alone! they are chasing her around the tank biting her and i feel so bad for her. Is there anything i can do or will they eventually stop? :idont

A colander is a good start! Once they hatch though they may slip through the holes or get sucked out by the big fish :o

If you can set up a fry tank for them they would probably have a better chance!! You can do it!! :D We can help you!

In my experience, the fish will eat them. Although if there are plenty of hiding places a few may well survive! The closer a tank is to a pond environment (lotsa space, plants and green water) the higher the chances of fry survival in the main tank from what I've noticed :)

Thanks for the replies but since i only put a few eggs into the colander only two hatched and i think they may have fallen through the holes :no: . It was a cool learning experience. And now next time ill know what to do with the help from you guys!

Make a few spawning mops and next time when they do it pull the mops out and put them in another tank to hatch. That has been the best way i have found for collecting eggs.

• Admin

Well its like yarn balls in a since. This way when the female sprays eggs they will stick to that and not the tank or other material. Once an egg sticks its like super glue and you cant get it off. :(

Yes they are likes superglue!!!! :) Really quite amazing.

Lindsey if your fish has released eggs once, she is almost sure to do so again. If you can't buy spawning mops, any ornament in the tank will do fine.