Re-decorated Betta Tank...

mjbubbles

I've been reading a lot on the Planted Tank forum and got some good ideas for Mr. Blue's tank.

What I'd like are some tall grassy plants for the background so Mr. Blue could swim through the jungle.

The anubias are not really tall enough for him to swim through.

I haven't had much luck with plants other than anubias in this one, the amazon fern, sword and mermaid weed have all died. The algae is doing really well, as you can see :no: . I have trouble scraping it off because of scratching the plastic of the tank.

DSCN3395.jpg

DSCN3404.jpg

Java fern is pretty tough, I could never kill it. You could try Vallis but mine petered out after a few months, I hardly have any left. It also gets VERY tall.

Dwarf hairgrass might be good but I have no experience with the stuff so I don't know how hardy it is.

you could maybe get some different types of anubias, I believe there are some kinds that have longer leaves like these: http://www.shop.plantedaquariumscentral.com/ANUBIAS-FRAZERI-Tall-Anubias-Specie-Frazeri01.htm

And java fern can get pretty tall and is easy to keep alive ;)

Or you could try maybe adding a plant specific substrate, upping your lighting a little (not sure what you have now) and trying those plants again (perhaps there just wasn't enough nutrients/light for them to flourish? idk)

I agree, java fern is a very easy to keep plant, and it will sprout a lot of baby javas from it's leaves, giving the whole thing a jungle like appearance.

Anubias also come in tall versions, I do not know what exactly they are called, but I got one of those myself.

Have you tried wiping the algae off with a soft cloth? (water drained, fish removed of course)

Either way, it is a gorgeous little tank! :)

Thanks for the nice comments and suggestions everyone.

I have tried rubbing the algae with a cloth, a scrubber and a scrub brush. This is tough algae~!