Sign in to follow this  
Kairi

Newbie General Questions....

OOoookay! So I'm sure this has been asked before and Ive searched the forum and other sites but can't reach a definite answer on some topics.

I'm new to fish keeping - this is my first fish so I'm sorry if my questions seem redundant!

I have two Ryukins in a tank :) one is mine which I got today (red/white and black) and the other Ludovinquinho (long name... red/white) is my bro's. Anyway we keep them in the same tank, and we just want to keep those two. We are not planning having lots of fishies, and I actually got my Ryukin (no name yet) today to keep Ludoviquinho company :)

img2011073000152.jpg

Ludoviquinho is an excellent fishy, I got it at Wallymart and he captured me because of his fast swimming and how excited he was!! We bought a huge tank with a filter, gravel, live plants, a moss ball and kept everything as free as possible :D ... I really dont get the whiole nitrate and measurements things to be honest, we are VERY amateur, shame on me, I make a 50% water change

and treat the water of course! but I never check for anything! How can I start to? and how can I know the correct levels for my Ryukin?

Today I got a Ryuking he was from vvvv and he was a gift, so my new little guy (or girl?...I cant tell...) is probably stressed cos the guy at Pet-smart was a complete @#$*(#@(*$@#(*$ at handling him!!!!! (or her) so he is swimming but maybe he is stressed? Cos sometimes he is just floating and swimming slowly...how can I help my new little guy or girl get adjusted? Also, how can I tell if is a girl or a guy?, and what food should I feed the ryukins!! I bought small sinking pellets that I wet first since that is what I read from most people... Ive also read Zucchini, and lettuce...also shirmp? ... Our babies are really small... So how should I feed this to them?Where can I buy the correct brands/products for them?