Starting With Saltwater

Midnight112x

So my fiance and i have decided to start a saltwater tank. We can not get a huge one but our space is limited to 36 inches in length. First question would be, is that long enoug? i think that would be enough space for a 30 gallon (maybe 40 but i dont think so unless its taller).

she likes clown fish (nemo). has anyone had a clown fish here? Any advice?

I would like to have some coral or anemonies in the tank also.

I do like the look of shrimp or some type of bottom dweller, or anything that can hide in coral would be cool.

My experience in fish raising: I have a goldfish tank now (55 gallon) and when i was younger i had a freshwater tank with random fish in it, cant remeber breeds. I have zero experience with saltwater fish. I am going to barnes and noble today do research with books. i want to do this the right way, when i started with goldfish, i was given terrible advice and lost a few fish because of it.

I know Saltwater is more expensive but does it require more effort and time than goldfish tanks? i measure my ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph in my GF tank often and it doesnt bother me, is there a lot more of other levels i have to monitor? (i think you monitor salt? educated guess)

How long do clown fish or some of the other fish i mentioned live? Any other fish compatable with clownfish?

I am sure i will have more questions but thats all for now. Thank you in advance

-Midnight

• Admin

Well Salt water tanks are more time consuming than goldfish. i personally find them harder to deal with at first. :o

Your going to need a lot of patience :)

If you want live plants and coral your going to need compact lights.

Your also going to need a skimmer for a tank your talking about or algae and slim will build in the tank.

Your going to either mix your own salt water or if a LFS sells it like bottle water you can fill it with them (i used to).

The Patience comes in at the beginning: