How To Tell If An Egg Is Fertilized.

Vee

Before I've been told that an egg that is fertilized is clear and unfertilized ones turn white with mold.

However, I've just realized that telling the two apart is harder than I thought. :hmm

In my little 5g tank I have a sponge filter, a heater and a fluorescent light above the tank. And.. From what I can see, only a few of the eggs are clear as glass. Others look almost like frosted glass. Are the frosted ones the "white" I'm looking for? These legs were laid and fertilized earlier this morning (Around 7 or 8 am EST) and they've been in that tank, just chilling..

I'm scared that if I leave the eggs they'll all get "molded" if this is the mold I've been told will appear.. I don't have a magnifying glass, so I suppose that doesn't help either. :(

I'd try to get pictures, but the only camera I have won't capture the tiny eggs in the tank, just their reflections, which show up "white."

This is my first time attempting to breed my goldfish, so any help is greatly appreciated. :)

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Are you planning on keeping the fry? Do you have any live baby food at all? Are you willing to cull them? It's a serious thing to think about. The white frosted glass kind are the unfertilized ones. What's the temperature in the tank?

congratulations Vee, now the fun begins.

here on this forum site are very detailed descriptions and directions on how to proceed.

A little note. Actually there are 3 eggs to watch. those which are "white" opac cloudy are no good. those yellow amber ones which by now (few hours depends upon temperature) have the cell division started and for a dark area and two eye spots are the good ones, the 3 rd group will remain clear amber color but will not develop for long time are no good.

If I have to cull them I imagine I'd probably put them in the freezer to "go to sleep" :(