Frustrated With My Goldfish

TC10284

I am not a pro like you guys at maintaining aquariums. But I do have three tanks - two 30gal, one 20gal.

The left 30 gal has four goldfish, probably eight to ten years old, except for one that is maybe three. They are about 3-4" long.

The middle 30gal has two goldfish, probably eight to ten years old, about 4" long.

The right 20gal tank has (now) two goldfish (the sick ones), probably eight to ten years old and 3-4" long.

Each tank has a pleco in it.

Each tank has about 2-3" of gravel and some fake plants with a filtration system in each, rated up to 40gal tanks.

Recently, I resealed the right tank. Long story short, I made a mistake of not letting the tank cycle properly and the ammonia levels went up. I changed the water frequently. Sometimes 50%, then I started reading that large water changes were hard on ammonia eating bacteria. So I tried mixing some of the water that tested .0ppm ammonia from the left tank, hoping the bacteria would grow quicker. The ammonia levels stayed the same. Then I tried some of the ammonia reducer tablets sold at stores. Same story with these. One of the two fish in the 20gal was my favorite black moore. He started sitting on the bottom. I noticed very tiny white spots on his fins, mostly tail, and it progressively got worse from that point. I switched him to the middle tank, which was more established, I believe. He eventually started swimming crooked (not always upright). Then a few days later, I lost him. =(

I'm upset and frustrated about that, because I try to put a lot of time into maintaining my aquariums, but with my business, it lately seems to be a lot more difficult.

So now, there are two fish from the middle tank that are showing the same signs as the black moore. I thought it was ammonia poisioning, but now they are showing the same symptoms. They hover at the bottom of the tank and show lots of blood in their fins. Not really white spots.