A Chronicle Of Carassius

Calluna

I have never written a blog before so here it goes :)

I've read other people's blogs and most start by saying how it all started out with an overstocked tank- my story is not much different. When I was in second grade, I went to the lfs and after nagging my aunt to buy me some fish, she was persuaded and allowed me to pick out a goldfish. I picked out a fantail and named him Goldie- perhaps the most unimaginative name for a goldfish? We got a bowl to put him in and at the last minute we decided to get another goldfish, a lionhead this time. I named her Annie, after the character from "the magic treehouse" series, which were my favorite books at the time. When we got home, I did everything the worst way possible- filling the bowl with untreated tap water, pouring the two fish in with the water in the bags, and feeding them way too many flakes.

About a week later, I read a kids' book at the library about how to take care of fish, so I learned they needed dechlorinated water, a tank and a filter. We bought a 10 gallon tank, some gravel and some rocks and moved the fish there. We also started feeding them sinking wafers rather than flakes and did monthly water changes. For several years, Annie and Goldie grew from 1 inch fish to 6-7 inch fish. Over the course of years, we alternated them between tanks when they leaked. Strangely enough, they leaked almost regularly on Thanksgiving day for several years. While vacuuming the tank, I accidentally siphoned up poor Goldie :krazy: I panicked for a bit, but he escaped relatively unharmed.

--that's all for now, I'll continue writing next time. I don't have pictures, sadly, of either of them and they have passed away now.

Oerba, that's certainly true- without that book, surely the fish would have died with in a few months or weeks.