Fish Bent And Lying On The Bottom

nagaraj

Hi I have 2 goldfish in a 10g tank, the ammonia is 0, ph is 6.6 to 6.8, i have an aqueon powerfilter, i also have an airpump and a airstone. I saw one of the goldfish lying on the bottom, bent on one side. what should i do? I am new to this hobby and have lost of fish. The other fish is ok.

I immediately did a 50% change, put 2 teaspoons of aquarium salt and 10ml of the stress coat. I also changed the filter in my powerfilter.

You may already know that goldfish, depending on the type, need ten gallons each. So I won't go into detail unless you have questions!

What kind of fish do you have?

Can you answer the questions up at the top?

The 50% change was excellent! Did you dechlorinate it? Temperature and PH match it?

The thing that you did that was not so good is change the filter insert.

Unless you have another type of media in there that you did not change, you have just crashed your cycle. This is very bad for a sick fish! It's okay if you didn't know, that's why we have Koko's!

Keep a VERY close eye on water params, specifically for ammonia and nitrite in the case of a crashed cycle. Do you have a test kit? Drops, like the API Master Test kit for fresh water are best. We need those readings to properly diagnose any fish illnesses, so pick one up if at all possible.

Keep us posted. I'm sure someone with more experience will stop by to help out!

The thing that you did that was not so good is change the filter insert.

Unless you have another type of media in there that you did not change, you have just crashed your cycle. This is very bad for a sick fish! It's okay if you didn't know, that's why we have Koko's!