Using Buff-It-Up

nagaraj

Hi I read in one of the treads that buff-it-up from goldfish connections increases ph. I live in new york city, the ph of the tap water is 6.8, when I tested the water in my 10g tank yesterday, it was 6.6. Does ph fluctuate naturally in tap water? Should I increases the ph? Has anybody use the buff-it-up to increase their ph? Ammonia tested 0.25 last week and today it was zero. Looks like my tank cycled at last!

I am new to this hobby. I have lost lot of fish because the people in the local pet store did not educate me properly. After 6 weeks I have one Calico and 1 black moor surviving. I would appreciate any advice in this matter. Thanks

Hello!!

I'm trying to find this buff it up on GFC, but I must be blind...

What many people use for low pH is crushed coral, which is all natural as it releases minerals into the water which raise the pH. I keep about 1 cup of it in a stocking inside the HOB filter and it keeps the water in my 55 gallon tank at 7.5 pH. :)

I like this more than adding chemicals.

I've always used SeaChem Alkaline Buffer in my goldfish tanks. It's a safe phosphate free product and has always performed well for me. I use it once weekly to maintain a higher pH level to keep my GF healthy with never any adverse reactions. ;)

Here's a link to product description:

SeaChem Alkaline Buffer

Hello!!

What many people use for low pH is crushed coral, which is all natural as it releases minerals into the water which raise the pH. I keep about 1 cup of it in a stocking inside the HOB filter and it keeps the water in my 55 gallon tank at 7.5 pH. :)

Hello!!

hey I had another question, will the crushed coral raises ph slowly and will it go beyond 7.5?

hi kukana, I have a 10g tank with 2 gf only. I am new to this hobby, I lost the 1st couple, then bought some more, i lost those fishes, finally 2 have survived. I have a calica for 3 weeks, i just bought a black moor a week ago. how old are your fishes?