Mjbubbles Intro

mjbubbles

Hello everyone. I am a newbie goldfish owner. Three weeks ago I got Fluffy, a red/white ryukin. He's about 2 inches long including tail. I really enjoy his company. Of course, I bought a too small tank(3 gallons) before I knew what I was doing. Now that I know a bit more, I'm planning to upgrade his tank in a few months. In the meantime, I'll be checking here for resources on testing the water and keeping it healthy for him. I also like the barebottom look, which I'd never heard of before, and plan to do that in my new tank.

I had no idea how much there was to know about keeping goldfish! And this forum has been very helpful! I love feeding him fresh veggies - FLuffy likes peas and spinach, but not carrots. I have started soaking his food since he was spending a lot of time gulping air at the surface. It seems to be working.

Anyway, I will post pictures as soon as I figure out how to do that.

Looking forward to hanging out with you soon!

mj (and Fluffy)

I wanted to tell you how Fluffy got his name. I have wanted to get another dog, and tried fostering two different ones in the last year. Finally, reluctantly, I realized that my life just can't support a dog right now...but I wanted a companion. I'm allergic to cats, birds are too messy, and so that led me to fish. So it's Fluffy the dog substitute. I'm really fond of him already.

Welcome! In order to compensate for the small tank, I would be doing 50% water changes twice a day until you can upgrade :)

I had a fish named fluffy. He was named after a goldfish in That 70s Show. Where Kitty had named him Fluffy :P

Yikes! That's a LOT of water changes! I was planning to do them once a week.

There is a filter that seems to pick up a lot of stuff, and the water looks pretty clear.

Maybe I'd better speed up the tank upgrade schedule!

Thanks for the advice.