Treating With Prazi For 2 Months Now

npila1

I've been treating with prazi for flukes for almost 2 months now (it will be 2 months in 5 days) and I still see some occasional yawning. The problem is that I've been adding prazi every Monday but next week I'm going to be away on Monday (leaving on Friday and coming back on Wednesday). Is it ok if I wait until Wednesday to do the water change followed by addition of prazi next week?

And why is it taking so long for the flukes to go away??? Fang, I don't know if you'll read this but I know you started the treatment about a week after I did - are you still treating, too?

are you using the PraziPro? I had major resistant flukes which I zapped with using 2x the dose (vet here says up to 3x is safe.) . 2weeks of that and everyone seems fluke free.

I would definitely stop the prazi now and we can look at other things that might be causing it. All of that prazi is soooo expensive and could possibly be creating resistant flukes, so no more prazi for a bit.

Like Sakura said what's your pH and temperature?

Yes, I'm using prazi pro. I posted a month into the treatment and people said that I could extend the treatment since they were still yawning. My water parameters were 0,0,5 two months ago and for the past 1-1.5 month they have been 0,0,0. I had pH issues (it was down to 6.4-6.6) but I got buff it up and it's been constant at 7.5 for the past few weeks. Temperature fluctuates a bit because I'm in a dorm and I can't control the heat - it varies between 72-76 most of the time, but it's usually gradual.

Huh... in that case I might try Federica's suggestion of 2x the normal dose. I'd maybe give the fish a week's break from meds for now, and then try 2x dose of Prazi and watch to make sure they don't react badly.