New Tank: Thoughts?

Guest luser

Okay, so a lovely person on Gumtree offered me this tank. I think it's a pretty good price, and my two comets (plus the single fry) need more space than their current 10-gallon.

The problem is this: I live around 50 miles away from that tank. However, my parents live about 10 miles away, so I asked them if they would pick it up and maybe drive it up here if I paid for the petrol. I'm currently a student in a shared flat and fish are about the only thing I'm allowed to keep. Myself and my partner rather like our fish, so we are keen on getting the tank.

My room is medium-sized, and I could certainly make space for this tank (although my parents weren't happy at that, they think it's too full... I say decluttering is the answer :)). My parents are already wary of the 10gal and protested at the size of the new one - pointing out that next year I'll have to move it about 10 miles and they were worried it would get damaged. They are also worried that a leak/spill could make the landlord very very angry (as his shop is below the flat), and that this is more likely to happen with a bigger tank.

However, they are leaving the decision for buying the tank up to me and my partner, and they will bring it up if asked (they just aren't too fond of the idea). I guess I just want people to reassure me that getting this tank is a good idea, especially in the long run. I feel so sorry for my goldies ATM as they are a little cramped and I just want to get them the best possible tank I can buy for the money. If anyone has any tips on transporting large glass tanks with stands (both before and after it gets set up) and on transporting goldies, it would be much appreciated. Ideas on how to quell my parents' fears of leakage/spillage would be great too.

Thanks,

luser