Can You Use A 10 Gallon Heater For A 5 Gallon Tank?

us4298

I don't think it is going to hurt. You set it for a certain temperature, and it heats the water to that temperature. The only difference is that a heater for a 5 gallon tank wouldn't be strong enough to heat a 10 gallon tank, a heater that can heat up to a 10 gallon tank won't have any difficulties warming a 5 gallon tank.

Thing is though, are you using the 5 gallon tank for a goldfish? If so, this is way too small. A goldfish needs 10 gallons MINIMUM if it is a fancy one; single tails like comets and shubunkins need at least 20 gallons each. :)

I have a heater for 10-20 gal that I use in my 5 gal QT tank. I've been using it for about six months and it works fine with no major temp fluctuations. I would just keep a close watch on it and always have a thermometer in the tank to be safe. ;)

• Admin

My main thinking of heaters if it will fit, get a heater that is one size bigger than what you think. So if you have a 40 gal tank get one for a 50 gal tank, this way the heater wont burn out as fast :)

It actually works opposite folks

The part of the heater that wears out is the contact switch , not the heating element !

Because a higher watt heater will heat the water quicker in the smaller tank , it turns on and off more times a minute than a lower wattage heater.

The lower wattage heater stays on longer , because it takes longer to heat the same amount of water ,so it turns on and off less times a minute.

As the heater turns on , the electrical contact switch creates an electrical arch, which over time , will burn away metal from the switch.

So the higher watt heater's contact switch would be on and off more often and burn up sooner.

If Anybody has a clear glass heater , take a look inside near the top ,and You will see a small copper contact switch that has burn marks on it.

Dont let any of this scare You though, it is still OK to use the bigger wattage heater, it just wont last as long.