Fry Update

Migaloo

Hmmm.... I dont think my fry are doing too well.... although they are still alive (except for the 3 which died), they just dont seem normal to me. I could be wrong since its my first time, so I dont really know what "normal" is for golfish fry!

Its day 6 today (I think) from when they hatched. They all just seem to lay on the floor of the tank. Every now and then I'll see a few swimming around - but mostly they jusy lay there. Sometimes I think they are dead, but then I see them kind of twitch/scatter around the floor - or even get up for a swim. They never all swim at the same time - I'll usually just see 2 or 3 swimming - even when I feed them

Although I have seen some development - I can see their insides forming and can see their fins appearing - but the way they behave hasnt really changed over the past few days... well since they were born really. Every day I look at them and hope to see some change - but nothing! I thought they should be swimming more actively by now??

They are in a 10 gallon with a sponge filter, being fed 1 - 2 drops of liquid fry food, 3 times a day. I have been doing approx 40 - 50% water changes daily.

I tested my water today... all seems good: ammonia 0, nitrIte 0, nitrAte <5, ph 7.6

Is their behaviour normal? What am I doing wrong?

I just read that they should swim from day 3 on...

what temp do you have? maybe you need to turn it up a tiny bit to stimulate them? do you see them eat?

I kept my fry tank at about 77f and it takes a few days for them to start swimming (if you want to call it that ;) if you can get a baby brine shrimp kit it will come in handy in a few days they don't really eat until their yolk sacks are gone :)

Thank you for the replies :)