Hello There

molbert73

Hi everyone! My name is Molly. I wouldn't say that I am new to goldfish but I am new to taking care of them the right way. I had lots of them when I was younger and kept them in a bowl :doh11:

Well I recently acquired a few goldfish from a friend of my moms. Her kids didn't want them anymore and I knew that my boys would love to have some fish in the house. Little did I know how bad these little fishies had it. There were three 2-3 in long comets in a 5 gallon tank! My mother in law and I decided that they needed a bigger tank because they weren't even swimming around in there so we went and purchased a 20 gallon and thought that it would be ok to add yet another fish (whoops).

That is when I found this site. I have recently rehomed the 4 comets. They are now living the good life in my friends very large pond.

So tomorrow is the day that I am going to go and get new fish. I'm thinking that I want to get an oranda and a black moor. What are your thoughts on this? I plan on moving up to a bigger tank in the not too distant future (I just have to ease my husband into the whole fish thing)

Welcome! Good worm on finding the comets a good home :)

Orandas and black moors are great fish. Just be prepared to learn how to hand feed since the oranda will beat the moor out for food. My moor was my favorite. They are sweet fish.

Maybe you can try getting two moors instead? :o be aware that they may turn orange, but before you go out and get thm, have you considered fishless cycling? It'll be so much easier on you and the fish!

Welcome to Kokos by the way :D

Thanks for the warm welcome!

I could get 2 moors but I would like 2 different kinds (I'm dorky like that) I promise that I will do what it takes to make sure that they eat ok.

The tank has been empty for a while now and the filter has been running the whole time, and I do plan on bringing a water sample with me to the pet store so they can check it before I bring fish home.