I Need To Vent About Work!

Rebecca Hampshire

I am a Senior Nursery Nurse and I look after babies from 6 months to 2 years.

I am having a really tough time at the moment at work with a few of the women I work with. There are four of us who work together and I am the senior member of staff, (not the oldest) I am the person who makes sure things get done appropriatley and I oversee EVERYTHING that happens in our room.

I took 4 days off a couple of weeks ago and when I went back in to work the three women I work with totally ignored me for three whole days! It was sooooooo hard as I have no clue what I had done wrong!

Well since then the atmosphere has gone from bad to worse, I just get ignored all of the time! Even when I have to assert myself if something is not happening or something is wrong with the day to day running! I am a VERY laid back, friendly approachable person and I often take the wrap when it's not my fault. Today one of the girls (the worst one, who is always getting diciplined) mouthed the "F" word at me, when I was asking her about something a parent had complained about!!!

I hate confrontation so I went to talk to my manager about it, but I don't think anything is going to get done about it! I am much older than two of the women and I hate having to go to work to be treated like this, I have worked there for 6 years and the other women are relatively new. It reminds me of being at school and I left school 18 years ago. I have grown up, it's a shame that some people never get past this stage in their lives!

Sorry for long post and it's a bit pointless but I am sitting here stewing over it and I thought I would feel better if I wrote it down!

Thanks for listening

XXX

Edited by U.K. Becs

I think you did the right think talking to your supervisor. Talking to people who act like that won't do any good. Tell him in detail how they act and what they say, if you didn't already do that.