Does This Sound Like A Red Flag?

I was at the LFS today for a couple of things, and my little boy fell in love with a little calico oranda we were watching. I'm not an expert by any means and I don't want to get a fish to be "his fish" unless I'm relatively sure it seems healthy. He would be oh so sad if something went wrong... So I told him I would have to talk to dad about it and we might be able to go back for him later. Dad will go along with whatever I think, but I'm here to consult Koko's!

Anyway, this little guy was chubby, but didn't seem floaty. He wasn't hanging out near the top or the bottom. He seemed active and kept coming to the front of the tank and looking at us. The only thing that I was a little concerned about was that he kept going and poking around by the filter intakes. It seemed like he was just checking it out and then going on about his business, but he did it several times. I also thought it might have just been the only interesting thing in the tank since there wasn't really any decor in there.

I didn't see any obviously sick (or dead) fish in any of the tanks, and everything seemed fairly well-maintained, but I don't have much experience with this particular store. So what do you think, does it sound like something to be concerned about?

Thanks!

I think it is worth a shot. Just make sure you are ready for a full 30day QT with salt and Prazi. Are you familiar with that? You do not want to put him with your other fish until he has been through an 'uneventful' QT. Also, has your other fish gotten the salt and Prazi yet?