Very Sick Fish

BusyIzzy

Hi everyone,

I'm at my wits end. I have a 60litre tank with five fantails and two normal goldfish - i'm new to goldfish keeping. The tank is about 5 months old and i had my water tested last saturday and the ammonia, nitrates were all fine. (I got it tested at the petshop). I introduced a new fish to my 6 original fish who were doing fine that day. Three days ago one of the fish (a fantail) was looking really out of sorts and not swimming. I took him out of the tank and put him in a bucket (which maybe i shouldn't have done) - first i treated him with a product for internal bacterial infections (as thats all i had and the shops were closed). He was still alive next day so i asked at the petshop - they recommende methyleneblue which i used last night. (he had been either lying on the bottom or gulping air at the top) - i have a filter and an aerator in the tank.

Last night i did a 20% water change in the tankd and i put him back in the tank just now. He is swimming but his back tail is drooping and if he stops swimming he usually floats to the surface. Now he is just breathing rapidly at the top of the tank and lying beside the filter.

I have absolutely no idea what to do for him now????

Please help, thanks so much in advance!

Hey and welcome to Kokos! First of all, it sounds like your tank might have too many fish in it for the amount of water it holds.. It would be easier for us to help you though if you can first answer these questions:

[*]Test Results for the Following:

[*]Ammonia Level?

[*]Nitrite Level?

[*]Nitrate level?

[*]Ph Level, Tank (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)?

[*]Ph Level, Tap (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)?

[*]Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops?

[*]Water temperature?

[*]Tank size (how many gals.) and how long has it been running?

[*]What is the name and size of the filter(s)?

[*]How often do you change the water and how much?

[*]How many fish in the tank and their size?