Sign in to follow this  
Angel1020

My New Filter Came Today!

I hooked it up immediately and it seems to be working fine. I have never worked with this type of filter before so I could use some pointers.

I put in the big white sponge thing and I put in the white bio stuff in the mesh bag. But, I left out the carbon bag, is that ok? I know many of you don't use carbon and I just got done removing all my carbon 2 days ago on the day of the filter mishap that started all this. lol!

Is that white-ish bio stuff available in pet stores so when it comes time to change it I can find some easily? What is that stuff called? It's like the chalky substance in little cylinder forms.

The filter seems really basic so I hope I have it set up right. I got the one that puts out 300gph, so added to my other 400gph and 200gph filter I'm now back up to 900gph for my 75gal tank. Whew!

:exactly You did it all right, sponge and the biostars. You can even add an extra bag of the biostars to give you that extra bio-media boost.

Yes, I call them bio-stars, but they're available by the boxes in the lfs like Pet*co and Pet*smart for each filter size. Just look in the filter section and look for the aqua clear sponges and they're all around there :)

These filters are great because of how customizeable they are and they work like a charm. :D I hope you enjoy them!