What Size Of Tank Dose A Betta Need?

kevinmj_3

You will get mixed opinions on this, but I prefer to give my betta at least 3 gallons (11.3 liters) of water. I am not good at keeping up with water changes on the betta tank, so the larger volume of water gives me a small margin of error should I lag a bit. This is why I couldn't keep him in a 1 gallon (3.7 liter) bowl because with those you have to do a full water change every few days. I know I wouldn't be able to keep up with that.

Some bettas seem to do better in larger tanks and don't do well in small tanks, while the opposite is true for other bettas. It depends on the individual fish. My betta is in a 5 gallon (18.9 liter) tank and he loves the space, so we're planning to upgrade him to a 10 gallon (37.8 liter) because I think he will enjoy it.

1 US gallon roughly equals 3.5 - 4 litres.

I have kept bettas in 2 gallon, 5 gallon, and 10 gallon tanks, and also once a very chilled out male lived in a 24G community tank.

I can definitely say in my experience the more room the better.

Daily (or at least every other day) water changes in the 2 gallon were both a chore to me and stressed out my betta, and it was too small to have a decent heater and certainly not a filter. Some do ok in this though. You need to keep on top of water changes.

5 gallon was ok, it was at least large enough to be able to heat it properly and have a small sponge filter (plenty of people manage without a filter but I've never had a betta that had a problem with one).

The 10 gallon I have now is the best option by far for me, my betta loves the extra room, and I can heat and filter it efficiently, it's cycled, cutting down on the very frequent water changes.

You'll also get people happy to keep them in 1 gallon jars but I think that's far too small.

It's really down to what you can manage and maintain.

I have kept mine in 1 gallon jars with no problems. Sorry no clue what the litters are.