New Fish, Ich, White Poo, Lice: Stressed In Fish Keeping

Guest fukkochan

Guest fukkochan

hi all! i'm quite new to fish keeping.... i juz bought 2 ryukins and they are definitely sick! =(

they have salt-look-alike things on them, which i read about diagnosed as ich and then i found one green round disc-shaped thing on one tail fin, scraped it off with my nail and it has 2 black eyes! size is 2mm. and now both of my fishes are pooping white hair-look-alike poo! i'm soo stressed! i worry so much for them, they are such a cutie, i want them to live happily and healthily! my sis has been telling me to take it back and switch it with some other fishes but i don't want to! i need help... thanx in advance!

i put them into an 19 litres tank as a quarantine tank because i don't want to mix them with the big group in the 15 gallons yet, i know you have to quarantine new fishes and i'm sooo glad i did this! the tank now has 0.3% salt (this is the safest way to help with ich according to this website) and i don't feel like adding any medication yet until i know what i have to do

[*]Test Results for the Following:

[*]Ammonia Level?i don't know

[*]Nitrite Level?i don't know

[*]Nitrate level?i don't know

------i don't really know how to test for these with only 0.3% salt concentration... should i follow saltwater aquarium testing?

[*]Ph Level, Tank (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)?

[*]Ph Level, Tap (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)? i don't use my tap water, i use mineral water

[*]Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops?

[*]Water temperature?31 degrees Celsius centigrade

[*]Tank size (how many gals.) and how long has it been running?19 litres tank, been set up since 2 days ago, this is the third as quarantine tank

[*]What is the name and size of the filter(s)? hang on back filter

[*]How often do you change the water and how much? i change 30% daily now and not to forget to keep salt concentration at 0.3% (1 teaspoon of salt per litre)