Quarantine For Inverts

seheap

Hi guys! I thought I'd ask the experts....

I searched the forum and couldn't find anything on how to QT these guys. I have no experience with them, and don't want them to give my betta any problems. I know they are sensitive to salt, but what about prazi? Or is there anything else I can do before I plop them in the tank?

:thanks

I've never really heard that inverts can give anything to fish. I don't know what inverts you want to add but when I buy my shrimps I just add them right in and I've never had a problem. Shrimp can tolerate prazi but they don't do well with it. When I treated my goldies all my shrimp became very inactive and they pretty much hid all the time but only one died out of 7. And if you do prazi use the regimen where you add prazi every 4 days with wc before. The one where you use prazi one day and redose the next day will kill the shrimps. Hope this helps. :)

It did, thanks! I always wait a full week before doing a second dose of prazi. I have never heard of redosing every day. But then again I use the liquid stuff, not the powder, maybe that's it?

I just bought a blue mystery snail and a cherry shrimp. Just one of each to make ure Sir Betta Physch doesn't make a snack out of them! :)

I'll make sure to keep a close eye, thanks, Edith! :)

It did, thanks! I always wait a full week before doing a second dose of prazi. I have never heard of redosing every day. But then again I use the liquid stuff, not the powder, maybe that's it?

I just bought a blue mystery snail and a cherry shrimp. Just one of each to make ure Sir Betta Physch doesn't make a snack out of them! :)

I'll make sure to keep a close eye, thanks, Edith! :)

This is the dosing regimen I meant. It works great on the flukes but it's too rough on the inverts.

Day 1 -- remove carbon, perform water change with vacuuming, and add Prazi to tank

Day 2 -- add Prazi

Day 3 -- do nothing

Day 4 -- do nothing

Day 5 -- do nothing

Day 6 -- add Prazi