Do You Still Do Weekly Water Changes On An Understocked Tank?

This may be a total newbie question but if i ever want a really big tank my answer has to come back good. Now i am not sure of tank sizes so i am just going to say over 100 gallon tanks in general.To do 80 percent water changes on a tank that size is a LOT of water. Do you do weekly water changes on a tank that big or can you stay understocked? Say if you have a ...100 for example, could you instead of maxing it out with 10 fish go with 6 or 7 fish and do biweekly water changes?

I think it all depends on your ammonia and nitrate and nitrite levels and how comfortable you are leaving your fish in the water.

I might lower the amount changed each week to something more manageable rather than skipping it. Do you use buckets or would you get a Python? Pythons make water changes a breeeeze.

I would still do weekly. Cause they still eat and poop.

But I only do huge water changes once a month or every couple. I think you could do with just 50% and then once a month or every couple do larger ones.

A python is a much when you have big tanks.

I'd probably still do weekly water changes with a tank that size. I'm a big water changer (usually 85%), so maybe I'd cut down on the amount changed to, say, 50%, like Hidr said. But I think the goldies really enjoy a blast of fresh clean water every week.

Steph, is there a ginormous tank in your future??? Do tell!