Sign in to follow this  
mkjksk@core.com

Please Help, Nemo Died Today

Hi,

I'm new to fish keeping and lost my first goldfish today, a comet/koi mix named Nemo, who I've had for about 4 months. I have a 54 gallon tank with 3 goldfish and a pair of platys with a 350 magnum filter, an airstone and live plants. We have been feeding them only dry flakes. The pH is always around 8 because we have hard water, and the nitrates/nitrites were 0. My husband is picking up new pH test strips today because we don't know how old the ones we're using are.

My 4 year old son is crying as I'm writing this, and I'm heartbroken myself, because Nemo's friend, Marlin, a fancy tail goldfish, is upset and hiding in the back of the tank whenever we come near, since we had to remove Nemo's body. The two fish were very close and were always playing together. Nemo had no obvious symptoms except that both fish seemed very lethargic for a couple weeks, even though I did weekly 1/3 water changes with the water-safe additives. Marlin started floating at the top for periods of time with his mouth above the water and then will swim again. The water temp is around 65 degrees, my husband went to pick up a heater today just to be safe for the upcoming colder months. When I say lethargic, I mean the two large goldfish seemed to just float around for periods of time without moving their fins. At feeding time they perked up and seemed o.k. Then yesterday I found Nemo sitting at the bottom of the tank with all her fins clamped down and breathing very labored, her mouth was gasping. She still came up to eat. I did a quick 1/3 water change and added aquarium salt per directions on the box, just to the new water. But this morning she died. The only new thing we've added to the tank since the fish were acting lethargic is liquid plant fertilizer and a new brand of water-treatment for tap water.