Filter Media For Fry

Guest pond-fry

Guest pond-fry

Hi all my new goldie friends :)

I really hope you will all forgive me. This question should probably be in the equipment section, and btw I should probably know this already.

But please remember I am completely new to all this. Ive been reading about filtration now for hours and my head is spinning cuz theres so much to learn.

So I decided to sneak a question in here for my fry buddies :rolleyes:

I have this 14+ gallon tank and it came with a filter and pump. At the moment Im only running an air pump with a sponge filter cuz the fry are too small for the filter yet.

But Ive understood so much now, that I think I should somehow prepare the media in the filter already for when I want to use it? Have I understood that correctly?

Should I maybe hang the filter media in the tank with the fry in a knee high so that the BBs would start growing on it already, or is that useless?

My filter is an in-tank filter, eheim 2008. I also have a smaller filter that I got with my 1? gallon tank. Should I maybe use that first for a while and then switch to the Eheim? I wont be adding the filter for at least another 2 weeks, as my youngest fry are only 18 days old.

Thanks a lot in advance. And I hope Im not breaking any rules by posting this in the fry section.

Hanne

You could try the knee high filter media bag in the tank thing, but it may take a while that way.

A better idea may be (if your sponge on the sponge filter is replaceable) to just cut up the current sponge filter and put it in with the other filter media to seed it.

Is that an option?

Hello Hanne,

I understand why you posted this in the breeding section as this is a matter specifically about delicate fry keeping and raising, so it's no problem at all :) I have a few suggestions for you.