Sign in to follow this  
Caroline

Upgrading Procedure 10 Gal To 20 Gal

Hi, All

I am brand new to the forum and brand new to the goldfish world. Now, don't get upset with me because I am one of "those" people who went out and got a couple of goldfish without doing a lick of research because I figured - "They're goldfish! What could be so hard??" I'm a dog trainer by profession and nothing drives me more crazy than people like me who don't do their research about their pet. Anyway...

I was sold two red ryukins with a 10 gallon tank, which, I now know is too small. This was a b-day gift for my son on November 25th of this past year. (so, almost 2 months ago) The tank is juuuuust about through it's first cycle, I hope!

I bought a 20 gallon tank today with a 30 gallon filter (is that OK?). My question is: When and how should I go about getting Blubby and Shezhy (the kids named them) into their new home. They have some algae built up on the walls which I think is helping with the nitrogen cycle. All that algae will be lost when I move them over to the big tank.

I'm pretty bad with the matching of the colors with the test kit colors, but I bought a drop kit today and here's what I have:

Ammonia: 0

Nitrite: 5.0

Nitrate: 10.0

Tap Ph: 8

Tank Ph: 8

I've added salt a couple of times because they were flashing a bit and bottom or top sitting here and there. I do about a 40% water change twice a week.

I'm a mom who doesn't have too much time on my hands and now even less money with the new tank. I will take care of them to the best of my ability and so far they seem like real troopers dealing with such an inexperienced person!

Any suggestions for a smooth transition?

Thanks, in advance!

~ Caroline