Goldfish Being Petted?

Bubbleboy

Ok, well, as a goldfish lover on and off Koko's, I was just browsing goldfish videos on youtube today when I came across this.

Is this right????!!!! Dosn't that hurt the fish? Is it ok since the fish just swims into his hand??? I'm confused! :krazy:

I can pet my goldfish Omor he likes my hand but he is hand fed and will always come to my hand. However I would never grab or be rough like that with him. Usally I cup my hand in the water and he swims into it a brushes against it. I would be worried about grabbing him that hard they are very small and could easily be damaged internally or externally from that kind of contact. That is also the same thing he sees at feeding, a big figure outside his home who drops in food so that hand is probably very exciting because of the prospect of having dinner as well.

You two know I'm new at this, so here's my two cents. At first glance, I didn't really see anything wrong with it; just really strange behavior on the owner's part. Who pets an animal that is known universally for *not* being petted? Also, when somebody presumes that an animal "likes it", yet keeps his grip, I tend to think the person is fooling him/herself. In that grip, the fish can't get away even if it wanted to.

Maybe it's me, but isn't this fish's tail a little frayed?

I think, while incredibly sweet, the handling is indeed a bit rough. During water changes my fishies rub against my hand and I'll rub them with a finger or two. I'd be fearful of damaging their slime coat.

But what a wonderfully friendly fish. He needs a buddy! :hug