Dorie And Nemo Fish What Is Needed?

angelchelle_26

My daughter wants a nemo and and a dorie fish so hubby said ok we can start a saltwater tank. I have a 30 gallon that we want to use. Do we need live rock or the corals? I know we will need the nemo house (forgot what the are called) but are the live rock and corals really needed?

can you still use fake decor and fake plants?

What type of filter I have an extra Penguin 330 would that work or do I need speical saltwater filter? and what about the lights?

if we can bypass live rook and corals that would be really good because they are really costly right now but it we need it then we will get it but if we dont then we wont at the moment.

I'm not a marine expert but did help my friend set up a tank a few years back. My impression was yes, you absolutely need to have the live rock.

I'd try searching some marine sites, nemos are clown fish and Dori was a blue tang I believe :)

First of all, a "Dori" fish is called a Hippo or Regal Tang, and needs at least 75 gallons. A 30 gallon tank simply will not be big enough. It would be ok for the clownfish, but not the tang. You really really really need to research both Regal Tangs and clownfish and find out their needs. Getting into saltwater is not something to do impulsively just because your little girl wants it - you need to realize that it is going to be a huge amount of time and money. Yes, you most definitely need the live rock, and live sand too.

Also anemones (the "nemo house") are very sensitive creatures that are not for the beginning reefkeeper. Clownfish can host in a number of other corals, however. Keeping corals, you will need specific lights, as many of them are photosynthetic. Others need spot-feeding. You'll need to do research on what types of corals you want as well - as they are also living creatures, and some types can not be mixed, especially in a small tank.