White Patch On Dorsal Fin

spillie

I have been running a 30 gallon tank since July (so, about 4 months) with three small orandas (no new additions since then). I guess they are about a year old or less (body minus tail about 2" on the largest one). All have been happy and healthy. However, about two weeks ago, my orange oranda, Sparky, started to display a white rectangular line that has become a white rectangular even patch toward the top of his (or her) dorsal fin. It does not look fuzzy--hard to tell--but it is getting bigger. He seems perfectly fine and unbothered by this, eating well, etc., but I am wondering if he has some sort of infection or fungus (is fungus always fuzzy looking?)--or could it be simply that the color on his dorsal fin is changing? I have no idea. He does have both white and orange on his tail fin, though (until now) nowhere else.

What do you think this could be? It doesn't look like ich at all (neither round or grainlike), doesn't seem to be very 3-d (again, can't really tell), and the dorsal fin seems undamaged. No bloody streaks or anything like that. He lost one or two scales on his side awhile ago, but nothing looks amiss in those areas. Perhaps I should have waited for clearer symptoms, but I have him in a separate tank for the moment and have just dosed the water with Jungle Fungus Clear because the white patch is getting bigger.

If a fungus, how long should I leave Sparky in the Jungle Clear treated water? (Is this a mistake?) Should I feed antibacterial food meanwhile? Or put him back with the others and just add melafix?