Tail Biting Or Fin Rot? And Other Strange Behavior

soky

So, after having problems with goldfish, a few months ago I decided to switch and get a betta. But, I'm new to this and don't know what to expect from him. He has a 4 gallon tank with a heater (temp a pretty constant 82 degrees) and a lighthouse to swim through. The pH is around 7.2 - 7.4. The tank is unfiltered, so I change 100% once a week. He seems mostly healthy, eats like a pig, and swims actively, but occasionally (once or twice a week) I'll see him dart around the tank. It doesn't quite look like flashing, as he doesn't seem to be rubbing on anything, but I don't know what else he'd be doing.

About two months ago, he suddenly had a chunk of tail missing, and about half an hour later another chunk was gone. Ever since then, he goes through a cycle where his tail heals and starts growing back, and then suddenly it's frayed/missing pieces again. Also, he stopped flaring a while ago. Whenever I show him a mirror or point at him (he used to flare at my finger) he just backs away slightly and stares. Sometimes he paces in front of the mirror, but no flaring.

Can anyone make sense of my silly fish for me? Is his tank not set up right? More frequent water changes? Lower the pH? Is the temp too high? Or is he just a nut-case with a bad tail-biting habit?

http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art17131.asp

Here's an excellent article explaining the best temperature to keep a betta in and why. You seem to be a bit on the high side. The other thing is I found that my bettas do much better in a filtered tank. Even though I did weekly 100% water changes also, they would eventually get kinda lethargic and the fins would start looking ratty. As soon as I decided to put them in my filtered community tanks, however, they all perked up and started showing lots of that cute betta personality!