Aggressive Fish

Guest karebearxoxo

Guest karebearxoxo

So once again, my fantail and oranda have beaten up my new fish sophie, i came home today and she was torn apart. I dont know what to do, as of right now i also have her seperated, but for some reason these two fish wont stop being aggressive. I recently bought a 50 gallon tank and moved them in, hoping that the reason for the aggression was not enough space, but this hasnt helped, and im getting really angry that they wont stop doing this. I had a seperator in my 30 gallon, but i wanted to try putting them together and it didnt work. can someone please explain to me what is going on and how i can get this to stop? i am thinking of giving away the two angry ones, i cant keep seperating my fish all the time.

Are they perhaps trying to make her drop eggs? If this is the case, could you lower the temperature to induce her to release her eggs and they might leave her alone after spawning. I'm no expert but it makes sense to me.

That is assuming that when you say "she" you have correctly sexed her.

Like I said, I might not be right, but it's worth a shot yeah?

Guest karebearxoxo

i suppose that could be right, however im not sure how to lower the temp, its already pretty low. i dont have a heater in it, and i want to say its about 50 degrees, my thermometer isnt exactly working very well. as of right now, i have two tanks running, and im going to wait until sophie heals before putting her back in the large tank. also, i have heard that the way you detect if it is a female is if it is more rounded in the stomach area. this is how i have been judging them, are there any other ways to tell?