Buff It Up After 8 & 1/2 Days

Buff It Up report after 8 & 1/2 days of no WC and my brother feeding the fish every day once a day....

20 gallon tank with one fish

Before: 7.5 pH

After 8 days: 7.5 pH

55 gallon tank with one fish

Before: 7.7 pH

After 8 days: 7.7 pH

I'm very impressed. :thumb: The Buff It Up held the pH rock steady and it didn't budge one bit. :bounce FYI, my tap KH is probably about 50-75 range so there is no way it would have held the pH that long without it. :exactly

Disclaimer: Your results may be different. Actual mileage may vary.... :D

Let me guess - working in the infomercial business by trade? :tomuch:

That stuff IS good, hm! Rick knows what he is doing. :thumbs: Are you back home now?

• 2 weeks later...
Aquameds does not disclose the ingredients as they keep it a secret.

This sounds like the introduction to some sort of Chemistry project... does anybody here have open access to chemistry lab facilities? It's times like these that I wish I was at Caltech (they leave ALL of their facilities unlocked and open to all students 24/7... and students can paint their dorm rooms!)

I don't imagine it would be too difficult to determine what minerals/compounds they use in their product...

I'd really like to know. Isn't it going to be a balance of magnesium, calcium and whatever other minerals raise TA. Maybe its a blend of limestone molecules too :idont

• 4 weeks later...

When I was using it routinely I started with the recommended dosage and checked the pH. I have very soft water (NYC) and I found I really need to double the dosage to bring the pH to 7.4 - 7.6. Now in my main goldie tank I have crushed coral in a mesh bag in the filter and that holds the pH steady at 7.4. I use Buff-it-up only in the goldie quarantine tank. For my tropical community tank and my betta tanks I don't use anything to adjust the pH and the fish are fine with that.