How Do I Clean My Tank?

Guest Megan Steele

Guest Megan Steele

I am new at the whole goldfish thing and I need some instruction on how to clean the tank. I have a 10 gallon tank and I was wondering how to clean it without takiung all the water out, I have never done it before. Please help! :(

You will need a siphon for two reasons. One, it makes taking the water out so much easier, and two, if you have gravel, it's MANDATORY that you vacuum the gravel very, very well so that you get rid of any bad bacterias living there.

I would remove some of the water into a bucket. Then, you rinse all the filter parts in that water as well as all the decorations. Intense scrubbing and cleaning isn't necessary. Just rub everything well with your fingers. Then with your hands or a dedicated sponge, scrubber, etc., wipe down the inside walls of the tank. You do all of this before any siphoning/vacuuming.

If you have algae, my suggestion is that you can clean some of it, but also, to leave a little growing on something. One tube, one decoration, one rock, etc. Algae is the first life form that grows in an aquatic environment and it must get established before it will slow down/stop and allow other higher plant life forms to grow. If you keep removing all of the algae, the water is "programmed" to reestablish the algae over and over again. But, if you allow some to remain, it will eventually, stop growing or slow down its growth immensely. When I first started my tank, I had brown algae everywhere. But, I've left the algae to continue to grow on two uptake tubes and it, literally, doesn't grow anywhere else anymore.

Then, once you have all of these things rinsed and wiped down, you can start siphoning the water out of the tank. You should remove at least 50% of the water with each change; however, water changes are based on your test readings. If you have a higher reading, then it will mean that you will want to remove more than 50% of the water; maybe 60%-80%.