Aquascaping My 130g?

Guest Acer

Hello,

In May I upgraded my goldfish from a 55g to a 130g tank, however I had to leave for work (I'm a student...) shortly thereafter. I just got back last week, and they are really healthy and looking great, but I'm not happy with the tank in terms of aesthetics. Just has a bit of natural-coloured gravel, some randomly placed pieces of driftwood, and some java fern rooted to the wood.

I've been looking for some pictures of nicely aquascaped goldfish tanks, but usually I just come across barebottom tanks without much going on. I've tried lots of different plant species since I first got my goldfish (~3 yrs ago) and I don't like fake plants, so I'm thinking something that focuses on wood and rocks versus live/fake plants.

I know the arguments for/against barebottom tanks, and I personally like gravel, so just putting that out there :) I'm a pretty fastidious tank cleaner, so I have no problems with a bit more maintenance.

Does anyone have links to their tank pictures or others? I need some inspiration badly :D

Thanks!

Edited by Acer

Guest Orandaa

Personally, I've never been a fan of dark tanks. Though, a lot of people have them. I've always been one to like either natural coloured/looking tanks, or brightly coloured tanks. Currently, I have white gravel in my tank (which is my favourite type), along with a large fake plant (that looks real), and a circle of redish brown stones, with an airstone in the middle of them so it looks like a volcano or geyser. I tried to go for a more natural look.

I was looking at a topic the other day and someone had posted their photos of their tank and they had 2 glass bowls on either side of the tank, filled with bright gravel (I think) and it looked great. I'll try to find it.

What sort of theme were you going for?

I had fake plants once... and one of my weak-swimming goldfish got stuck in them :P