White Fuzz And Torn Fins

Guest NIMO

Hello,

I'm a noob to the fish world. However, I've read many articles on fish care so I understand cycling and the basics. I need help determining what is happening to my fish and how to fix it. My red oranda has patches of white fuzz on its right pectoral fin which is somewhat frayed and also on its tail fin. Please help!

Here are my tank stats:

[*]Test Results for the Following: After 50% change

[*]Ammonia Level? 2.0

[*]Nitrite Level? .2

[*]Nitrate level? 5

[*]Ph Level, Tank (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)? between 7.0 and 7.5

[*]Ph Level, Tap (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)? 6.4

[*]Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops? api

[*]Water temperature? 78F

[*]Tank size (how many gals.) and how long has it been running? 10g running since 7/31/08

[*]What is the name and size of the filter(s)? whisper 10 power filter with medium bio bags

[*]How often do you change the water and how much? every time the ammonia tests high (every couple days about 50%)

[*]How many fish in the tank and their size? 1 red oranda, 1 black moor, 1 comet (all about 3 in.)

[*]What kind of water additives or conditioners? aquasafe water conditioner, cycle

[*]What do you feed your fish and how often? flakes in the morning spirulina at night

[*]Any new fish added to the tank? no

[*]Any medications added to the tank? .01~.02% salt

[*]Any unusual findings on the fish such as "grains of salt," bloody streaks, frayed fins or fungus? frayed fins maybe fungus?

[*]Any unusual behavior like staying at the bottom, not eating, etc.? no, they're pigs!!

Click on the link to see the pics. They aren'y that good of quality but enlarged you can see small white fuzz on the tail fin.

Pics

Hi,