Fungas Eliminator

jody

Hi I have a 20 gal tank and I am treating fin/tail rot and red streaks with a fungas eliminator. The dose says to add 1 teaspoon for every 5 gallons. And then dose again in 4 days with a 25% water change. I added 4 teaspoons with my last waterchange(first dose). now I am wondering after the 4 days are up when I do the 25% water change do I dose fully again (4 teaspoons) or do I just dose 1 teaspoon for the 5 gallons I change?

Thanks for responding to my post.

I have been running the tank for two months ,I have been using the salt for the two months. I started the melafix right after the tank cycled, about 3 weeks ago, and my oranda was not getting any better, actually his red streaks and fin rot were getting worse. I was going through the meds that nnnnnn has to offer and they only have two meds for fin rot and that is Melafix and this fugus eliminator which I just started using. Two fish reside in this tank, a black moor(who is perfectly fine) and my red capped oranada.

So you are saying to stick with the Melafix? Maybe I didnt give it enough time but it was actually making things worse. I am frustrated with this as I dont want to lose the little guy.

Thanks again.

Jody, first you need to do a large, at least 90% water change. Use carbon in your filter media to remove all of the fungus eliminator. Your fish does not have fungus, and this will not help, it will only make things worse.

Its hard to answer you correctly without knowing your water parameters and water changing routines. Please try to answer all of these questions that you can, and we'll be able to better help you figure out what is going on, ok?

[*]Test Results for the Following:

[*]Ammonia Level?

[*]Nitrite Level?

[*]Nitrate level?

[*]Ph Level, Tank (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)?

[*]Ph Level, Tap (If possible, KH, GH and chloramines)?

[*]Brand of test-kit used and whether strips or drops?

[*]Water temperature?