How To Heat A Fish Bowl

Guest pearlywhirly31

Guest pearlywhirly31

I know this site deals only with goldfish but this is basically a question about "tank" equipment. I have a betta in a bowl and since they need a temperature of about 75 and up and the bowl is at 70 right now, is there a way that I can heat the bowl up and keep it at a desired temperature??? k thx!!!

depending on how big your "bowl" is, there is a mini heater that can be used but only raises the temperature a few degrees. im not a betta expert ( you can find them in the tropical betta section of this board), but from what i know, it isnt the best even for bettas, to be in a "bowl". they get clamped fins and such, no room to swim (well, as much as they do swim), and the more water volume you have, the easier it is to have a stable temp. visit the other section for more useful info for this type of breed. heres a link for the mini heater:

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod...3578+3743+12087

While, yes, about the only fish that could adequately survive in a bowl is a betta, I have heard from avid betta keepers (as I don't keep bettas myself) that bettas' fins, health and personality simply come alive in a 5 gallon tank. Bettas are strong, aggressive fish and the more room they are given to flex their muscles, the more beautiful and vibrant they become. So, my advice, save the investment into a heater for the bowl and use it toward purchasing a 5 gallon tank kit. I think the transformation you will see in your betta will be amazing.

Complete Betta Tank Setup

Setting up a Betta Tank

Choosing a Tank

Housing Your Betta

Edited by lynda441