Any Hope?

HNLim

I was at a LFS at my neighbourhood yesterday at around noon and I saw this tank of orandas on display in a high up tank being offered at S$38/- (US$25/-) a piece. I noticed this Black Oranda, but it had a broken dorsal fin and a broken tail. It is also skinny and looks stunded.

20kaqoo.jpg

Last night I was having dinner with my family at the "kopitiam" next door to the LFS. While waiting for the food to come, I went back to the LFS and offered them S$20/- (US$14.50) for this Black Oranda which they easily agreed. I went to collect the oranda this morning..

Here is a close-up of this oranda. Is there any hope or chance this fella will grow up to be a nice Black Oranda?

2gxpq8l.jpg

I would say yes. I'm no expert but as long as he's got good water conditions, plenty of foor, a few meds (Melafix) then he has a very good chance.

Well done for rescuing such a beautiful fish!

I think it's beautiful now! A little love to get rid of the white specks and smooth out the edges of the fins and it will be healthy as well as beautiful!

This guy will become a superstar under your care, Mr. Lim! ;)

Fatten it up, keep in pristine water, lots of sunlight.

What potential do you see in this piece, Mr. Lim?

I am just trying my luck and hoping for the best. OK! let me try to explain my choice and see if it makes sense.

1. The dorsal is almost perfect except for the tear which I feel will heal completely within one month.

2. The tail is almost perfect except for the missing portion. It has got no bent and it is well spread and position at a very nice angle.

3. All other fins are even except for some slight damage which should heal within 2 weeks.

4. The body shape is balance even though a little skinny, which I feel should not be problem. It should put on weight which should deepens its body profile.

5. It's scales are even and well lined except for some missing scales on its left side which should be fully recover within a month.