Please Help Identify My New Goldie

Guest Sheydence

Guest Sheydence

I'm new to owning fish, two days ago my boyfriend brought three home from the store, two goldfish and something else?. I've already identified one as a black moor, but have no idea what the other is. They are still very small. He is shaped just like the black moor and his fins are the same as well, but is colourful. He is mostly white, with orange and black markings. His eyes also don't bulge out like the moors do. Unfortunately I don't have a picture, but would like to know what I'm raising!!

Guest Sheydence

hmm... I know for sure its not a goldfish. It's long and thin and looks like he eats off the bottom. His tail fin looks like just a continuation of his body. He has one fin on his back, 2 on his stomach close to his head, and 2 on his stomach nearer to the back. Hes brown and spotted, probably about 5 inches long...

Guest Sheydence

Okay, I took some pictures with my webcam, although I don't know how well you'll be able to see them.

These first two are of the goldie

rjmfq8.jpg

r1aezb.jpg

And these are of the unknown fish

20pizm.jpg

fwskk4.jpg

It would also be really helpful if you could tell me if that fish will be alright with the goldfish

Its for sure not a common pleco, I checked that when I saw the warning on the top of the compatibility page.

Edited by Sheydence

Guest nimajneb

that my friend, is a Weather Loach. Also known as a Dojo. He's a bottom feeder, they are very sociable fish who prefer the company of other loach but I didn't know that when I got my first one and he became good friends with my GF Speedy. Make sure your tank is covered - they love to jump out but don't worry if he does tooo much, they can breath out of water for hours at a time. Not recomended though. I love Dojo's as much as GF, they have a very inquisitive nature. Enjoy.

I can recomend www.loaches.com as a place for more information.

Guest Sheydence

Thank you!