My Goldfish Has Ich (so My Lps Says)

Guest davenj

Guest davenj

Please help me! I have recently purchased a 20 gal. tank for my 6 mon. old goldfish about 2in. I used cycle on setup with API stress coat conditioner for my tap water. His tank mates are a pleco 4in., black moore 1.5in. and an iridesent shark 3.5in. Im very new at this and i am now finding out that these are horrible tank mates for my poor goldfish. Though my wonderful LPS said they would be just fine when i purchased the tank. Unfortanatly the black moore died within 24hrs. after being introduced to the tank. I did every thing i was supposed to do and was very meticulous. Now less than one week after I first setup my tank my goldfish has ich for the past 3 days looks very bad. His fins are half the size they used to be. He's covered in what looks to be a salt. He also has red strips on his body and iritation on his fins possibly blood sores? Now all he does is pretty much sit on the floor of the tank swimming is hard as his fins are what they are. I test my water every day with strips. My amonnia level really never reaches more than .5, my nitrate and nitrite is farly close to 0. my ph is high around 7.8 - 8.0. I've already done 2 20% water changes. My filter is a Whisper 20 came with my tank kit. I also have a 100watt heater, but its turned down cause my water temp stays about 82deg. I feed all of them tropical fish flakes except for the pleco which eats algae wafers. Im on my 2nd day of ich treatment with Quick Cure. Add 20 drops every 24 hrs. and turned of my filter so it wouldn't absorb medication as instucted by what seemed to be a very knowledgable fish guy at vvvvv who diagnosed him. I have an air pump putting oxygen into the water (so I think). But in these 2 days he doesn't seem to be getting any better only worse. Even though this product boasts that it'll cure ich in 2 days. I've been to countless web sites and read may forums about tank care and what i should do. Im very confused and need