Please Help! My Lion Head Might Have Fungus Problems.

Guest Christo7

Guest Christo7

Hi all, I'm new.

But more urgently my baby Lion Head goldfish was bought about 6 days ago from "Pets at Home", the english version of Pet-Smaart in the US. I'm now worried about the LEFT hand side scales on my Lion Head. I dont know whats happening, but it was bought like this from the shop and the woman said it was "ok". But I am not sure if it is.

Lion head goldfish are extremly rare where I live in the UK, thats why I need to take extra care of it. If fact theres now none left in my town unitl a few months. Can anyone tell me if my fish is ok from the video link provided below. Any comments much appreciated.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCf8_mv76jw

Thanks

Chris

Edited by Christo7

What a very nice Lionhead you have! :) Well, I am no expert, but I will tell you that it is very important that you answer all the questions in the white box above. More information will be needed to properly diagnose your fish. Personally, I had a hard time seeing his scales in the video, since the lighting is somewhat dark. If possible, if you could post a still picture showing his side? I think that would really help. :) For now, all I can suggest is to keep your water quality pristine to help whatever may be going on with him. :)

Yes, as Desiree says, we need your exact water parameters in order to help. If you don't have a test kit, take a sample of your water to the fish store and ask them to test it for you. But have them write down the exact values for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and pH. Don't let them just tell you "it's okay".

Guest Christo7

Hi I wish I could provide water parameters but unfortunately I cant due to water testing kits being well out of my budget, about ?20 per kit in the UK! Also pets at home charge about ?5 but I see this as very uneconomical since I have to do it after every water change.